New at Environment concepts. need help.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

New at Environment concepts. need help.

Hey there. Uh. Letsee. First post. Woot. I'm trying to get better at concept art in general but my weakness is backgrounds and environments. So here is a WIP. Things that I definitely plan on editing/adding are:
    1. More detail in the foreground on the cliff.
    2. More detail to the tree.
    3. More details to the trees in the background off in the distance.

I would appreciate any comments or critiques. I'm kinda new to this whole atmospheric perspective too. Thanks!

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Update. I've added some textures to the over all piece. Any suggestions or ideas to make it better?

Thanks

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'd say you need to work on your primary light source. I assume it's the sun, but you haven't been very consistent. The tree leaves hint at a sun located directly above, or perhaps a bit in front of us. The trunk suggests a bright light source below, in the valley. The foreground foliage appears to be illuminated by a soft spotlight from above, and the mountains in the back really aren't catching much direct light at all. If you settle on a single primary light source for the whole painting (and paint a visible sun if it's going to be in that part of the sky), the whole thing will fit together a lot better, I think.

As far as the atmospheric perspective goes, I'm a little confused because you've got a pretty nice recession from lighter green to darker blue...and then the distant mountains become lighter again. Usually, it's a fairly simple gradient - if you're going to get into the darker blues in the background (which is fine), be consistent, and don't start lightening things up as they get really far away.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following