Follows
    Following
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Here are other recent drawings.

Attached Images Attached Images        
    Last edited by meds; October 25th, 2010 at 08:09 PM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The first is just a quick random portrait of no one in particular. The weird markings on her forehead are due to me wrinkling the paper.

Goals for this week are to do some observational drawings, work with some watercolors (I am new at painting) and to continue with quick portraits.

p sage is offline in pursuit of hot lines Level 14 Gladiator: Dimacheri
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,666 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    I like your first one the very best (done from a photo?)

I'm guessing the rest were a mix of photos, live, and self-portrait from mirror?

It always seemed to me a bit easier to copy from a photo than to copy from life. For some reason, the eyes get "restless" trying to analyze the real-life model, where the drawing from reference we have no such reservation.

Then again, I could be way off... LOL.

I'm not really studying to be an illustrator or portrait maker (more of an animator) but I can see the potential for you with these drawings.

Keep working!

Thinking connects desire with creation.
    How good are you?

The Road to Perdition
    clog

5. The Following User Says Thank You to p sage For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks for your encouraging feedback.

None of these were done with live models and there are no self-portraits. I used a photo reference for them, although I tend to use references loosely, and use them more as a guide. That way I have room for my own ideas and interpretations, but if I start to stumble with the placement of things or anatomy I can refer to my reference. If I don't use some type of reference, I tend to stumble a lot.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following