Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    1,216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    how do you set up line art in PS7

    ok, i figured id ask this here, cuz no one looks at the questions and tips forum.
    first , ill just say how i set up my line art for coloring in PS7.
    i just make a copy layer of the background, set it to multiply, and put all the color inbetween the copy and background layers..i keep the color layer on normal.
    this is the only way i can figure out how to color a picture

    ive read tutorials about how to isolate the line work somehow...ive followed them step by step, word for word, and i SWEAR that every one ive tried leaves shit out..because nothing ever comes out the way they say it should...

    is there a "proper" way to do this?
    -------
    I wont fail now


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    187
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    By isolating the line work, do you mean having the line art layer so that it is the black lines with absolutely no white areas?

    If so the only way I have found is through using the magic wand. Firstly, make sure that your line art scan as about four times larger than you want it. Make sure there is also another layer under your line art layer, with some random colour filled. Have your line art layer selected go to Image>Adjustments>Threshold. Move the slider along until you are happy with the amount of line art that is visable. The line art layer will now be completely black and white. No grey at all. Use the magic wand tool and select the white area. Make sure that the 'Contiguous' option is unchecked. This way all the white areas will be selected with one click. Now, this is one reason why it pays to have it at such a large size. After the Threshold action, the line art will probably be a little thicker than you wanted it. WIth the selection still active, go to Select>Modify>Expand. Put in a value of 1-2 pixels (depends on the res of the artwork), and delete the selection. You may have to undo it a few times to get the right value. The other reason why you should delete some of the line art is when you resize the image to a smaller res, the anti-aliasing seems to favour the black and make the lines thicker. You can resize the image to see if the lines are the right thickness at the res you intend to view it at. If not, just go back and try again. You shouls now have a transparent layer with nothing but black lines on it.

    I know that there are probably better ways of doing it, but I am unsure what they are.
    .: I am a Middle Class Member :.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Queens, New York, United States
    Posts
    1,477
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Koro has a good tutorial in the round table...

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    1,216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    coo, thx guys
    -------
    I wont fail now

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 28th, 2012, 07:58 PM
  2. SketchBook: Line || Line
    By SMG in forum Sketchbooks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 2nd, 2010, 02:39 AM
  3. Art: adding line thickness without losing line quality
    By JellevdVegt in forum Fine Art
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 24th, 2010, 06:32 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 20th, 2008, 12:22 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 13th, 2004, 08:20 AM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Designed by The Coldest Water, we build the coldest best water bottles, ice packs and best pillows.