Results 1 to 30 of 30
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Painter 11 + Mac Snow Leopard = AMAZING!!!

    Hi Guys,

    It's unbelievable, i've tested Painter 11 with the new Snow Leopard, it's amazingly fast. When you click painter on the dock, it didn't bounce, painter 11 flash screen flash, then loads the application instantly. That's how amazingly fast the new OS is. I've tested it a bit for 2 hours, draw and paint with my intuos4. I didn't saw it crash I'm happy to upgrade to the latest OS!!!


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Sounds good. Can you please keep us posted over the next few days if anything else comes up?

    Thanks in advance.
    1SG V

    To All My Brothers-In-Arms Overseas, God Bless You, Come Home Safe!!!

    OIF 07-08

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,048
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 195 Times in 158 Posts
    What about working with large, multi-layered files? does it have any noticeable slowdowns?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Tested it with 20mb file size for 6 hours, with less than 6 layers (not much in to layers though). it's running fine no crashes yet

    I also tried making the brush size bigger like set the size to 100 and did a fast stroke, didn't notice any lagged too. with no optimization set like the ones in the sticky, just the default settings when you installed the application.

    btw, here's my specs, mbp unibody late 08 model, with 4gb memory and 200+gb hdd, now hdd space, is about 80 gb free. Hope that helps guys.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,048
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 195 Times in 158 Posts
    Hmm, I don't care about filesize generally, I was more curious about pixel dimensions.
    Also different brushes have different complexity, like, I can normally work with artists oils up to 150-200 pixels in diameter, but chunky oil paster of the same size will be a killer.

    What I mean is I wonder how fast is painter itself, not all that OS dependant stuff like lighting-fast windows and instantly starting program.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Can you run Painter 9 under Snow leopard?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yeah, I have the same question about running Painer 9 with Snow Leopard. Can anybody check this out?

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think the idea of a Painter running fast anywhere would be a reason to buy a Mac for a lot of people

    Questions :
    - Can you take a default digital watercolor brush, say the most basic one (I think there is a "simple water" or something) and raise the size of it and tell us when lag appears, so we can compare ?
    - when you zoom, is it fast, instant, on say anything around A4/300 dpi, with 6 layers ? Do you have visual glitches sometimes ? Same question while rotating.

    How fast it loads is of no importance. I assume your HDD is a SSD, which is the kind of boost to loading speed you're describing. That said you only boot once, while lagging brush are here all the times. Hence the questions about brushes
    My comic book blog (french).. Some draws by Vincent Makles, some by me...

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    my photopaint does not work now

    sorry but now that i have upgraded to Snowleopard, my Image Adjustment menu options no longer work in PhotoPaint.

    Anyone have any suggestions?? The adjustment window (none of them) will pop up when I go to Image>Adjust. It wont work when i use the shortcuts either like appleB for Contrast/Intensity.

    i was making some adjustments to a large group of photos before i upgraded and only got through half of them.

    I'm using version 11.
    Last edited by agostot; September 9th, 2009 at 08:11 PM. Reason: version identification

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 31 Posts
    hmmm... agostot, forgive me if I'm wrong, but I think you are talking about a different program. Corel PhotoPaint is part of the Corel Draw suite and is not the same as Corel Painter (so nobody here may be of help - although of course you may be lucky). Corel Draw is now on version no. X4 (basically no. 14) so you have quite an old version. If no-one here can help, you might try the Corel Draw Forums for some help, or this forum HERE

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked 112 Times in 27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Hade View Post
    Yeah, I have the same question about running Painer 9 with Snow Leopard. Can anybody check this out?
    Painter IX works perfect with Snow Leopard.. better even, I reckon.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Spa.
    Posts
    337
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 397 Times in 106 Posts
    Same here. Painter 9 (Mine is 9.5) works at least as well as did with 10.5.7. Under rosetta in case of Snow L. But no much trouble after all.
    Sketchbook is one click away:
    Never forget the Magicman

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked 112 Times in 27 Posts
    I do have problems with Painter X, the ghost brushing is buggy as hell.. seems 11 has sorted this nicely and I never had a problem with it in 9 or 9.5

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks guys for answers about Painter IX.5, thanks a lot

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    new to Corel......help!

    I'm at a loss here. I have the OS X.6 mac, but I need to open Corel 8 files created on the old OS 9.2.2. I have snow leopard and have the current version of Corel X4.
    I've learned that i need Corel painter 11 (or Corel essentials) in order to either open the old files (which are currently on 3.5 floppies) and then to actually run the program. Any truth to this? Please entertain my inquiry..anyone!

  17. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    WOW
    you're right. Painter 11 does run like a dream in Snow Leopard.
    amazing, indeed!
    (ToT)

  18. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cy_youlikeit View Post
    I'm at a loss here. I have the OS X.6 mac, but I need to open Corel 8 files created on the old OS 9.2.2. I have snow leopard and have the current version of Corel X4.
    I've learned that i need Corel painter 11 (or Corel essentials) in order to either open the old files (which are currently on 3.5 floppies) and then to actually run the program. Any truth to this? Please entertain my inquiry..anyone!
    I think you are talking about two different programs. Corel X4 (which is probably the newest CorelDraw Suite X4) is not the same as Corel Painter of any version. That's if you are actually talking about Painter 8 as opposed to CorelDraw Suite 8?!?

    However, you are probably in luck. If it's a .rif file (Painter format) you are trying to open, one of the programs included in CorelDraw Suite X4 can open it. Open Corel Photo-Paint X4 as that can now open .rif files. If it's actually old CorelDraw files or Corel Photo-Paint files then the new suite can open them too.

  19. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have played around with it twice on Snow Kitten, and each time I have had to force quit the program. It randomly has done this thing where it won't bring up the individual windows, won't let you click it to close or minimize, etc. :|

  20. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    634
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 70 Times in 20 Posts
    been using 11 everyday for the past month on two systems both running Snow Leopard and so far rock solid. Had it quit once while manipulating some type.
    it also seems very very fast, but I am using two brand new pro books.

    d

  21. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    Painter X is crashing about every half hour for me, always when I am free rotating the canvas. It's very sad.

  22. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Maybe this is for Painter 11 in general, but why did they change how scaling works? I'm finding this to hinder me, now, since if you scale something it cuts it off if it's outside the canvas, or it disappears completely. Am I somehow doing something wrong?

  23. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Edmonton AB CA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    No, that's just an unfortunate new feature of the 'transform' tools of Painter 11. You are not the first to feel it's cold touch on your shoulder, nor shall you be the last. No fix in sight for that issue either.

  24. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    634
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 70 Times in 20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kartos View Post
    Maybe this is for Painter 11 in general, but why did they change how scaling works? I'm finding this to hinder me, now, since if you scale something it cuts it off if it's outside the canvas, or it disappears completely. Am I somehow doing something wrong?
    I've been using "convert to reference layer" instead. *
    still the transforms need a fix.

  25. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 31 Posts
    I use "convert to reference layer" instead too (see Layers/Convert To Reference Layers (win) ctrl+shift+X (mac) command+shift+X ). The new transform tool is complete rubbish, the cropping is ridiculous!

    Corel have annoyingly taken away the right click "Commit" option for for the reference layer transforms, which you can only do now by right click on the layer in the Layer Palette and selecting 'commit'. But I have created a short cut for that too because it's quicker. To do this you can use the commit option in the arrow flyout from the Layers Palette called Convert To Default Layer.

    So for anyone who doesn't know how to set a Keyboard shortcut, go to Preferences/Custom Keys, change the Shortcuts option to Palette Menus. In the Application Comands list click the plus box on Layers. Scroll down till you find Convert To Default Layer and give it a keyboard shortcut. I chose to use (win) ctrl+shift+C (mac) command+shift+C.

    So now for me Transform is: (win) ctrl+shift+X (mac) command+shift+X
    And Commit is: (win) ctrl+shift+C (mac) command+shift+C

  26. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    634
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 70 Times in 20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fes View Post
    I use "convert to reference layer" instead too (see Layers/Convert To Reference Layers (win) ctrl+shift+X (mac) command+shift+X ). The new transform tool is complete rubbish, the cropping is ridiculous!

    Corel have annoyingly taken away the right click "Commit" option for for the reference layer transforms, which you can only do now by right click on the layer in the Layer Palette and selecting 'commit'. But I have created a short cut for that too because it's quicker. To do this you can use the commit option in the arrow flyout from the Layers Palette called Convert To Default Layer.

    So for anyone who doesn't know how to set a Keyboard shortcut, go to Preferences/Custom Keys, change the Shortcuts option to Palette Menus. In the Application Comands list click the plus box on Layers. Scroll down till you find Convert To Default Layer and give it a keyboard shortcut. I chose to use (win) ctrl+shift+C (mac) command+shift+C.

    So now for me Transform is: (win) ctrl+shift+X (mac) command+shift+X
    And Commit is: (win) ctrl+shift+C (mac) command+shift+C
    To speed things along I put those commands in a ' command palette"
    one click for each!

  27. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Spa.
    Posts
    337
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 397 Times in 106 Posts
    Yeah, a commands palette, is a better way to go IMHO, but the real way to go, is corel fixing this problems, update after update.

    Just 1 major update for a major release, every 2.. 3 years, is plain crazy.

    In example, on painter 9.5, you cannot resize the layers palette. But you can in Painter 10. and the updated 10.1.

    Corel... tsk tsk tsk.
    Sketchbook is one click away:
    Never forget the Magicman

  28. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Spa.
    Posts
    337
    Thanks
    495
    Thanked 397 Times in 106 Posts
    Double post for no reason :?
    Sketchbook is one click away:
    Never forget the Magicman

  29. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 104 Times in 55 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ian Miles View Post
    In example, on painter 9.5, you cannot resize the layers palette. But you can in Painter 10. and the updated 10.1.

    Corel... tsk tsk tsk.
    In fact, I discovered when Painter 10 was released it was possible also in Painter 9.5. There isn't any icon showing you what you are doing but it is possible :p

  30. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    281
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Milligan View Post
    To speed things along I put those commands in a ' command palette"
    one click for each!
    Yeah but I like keyboard shortcuts, and have one hand permanently on the keyboard. So that's quicker for me... no need to click anything or have another palette cluttering up space.

  31. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Red face clean install?

    Wondering if all the people who commented on the performance of snow leopard and painter installed the OS on a formatted machine or was it an upgrade?
    i've heard the clean (formatted drive) seems to run faster.
    Also was this a 32 bit or 64 bit install of the OS? (it seems like the shipped CD's from Apple were 32 bit and it was a separate download to get the 64 bit)

Similar Threads

  1. snow leopard
    By RangerX in forum Art Critique Center
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 30th, 2011, 09:26 PM
  2. Snow Leopard/Fox
    By Murikami in forum Art Critique Center
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 28th, 2010, 08:46 AM
  3. Snow Leopard
    By Jordan Lamarre-Wan in forum Art Critique Center
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 19th, 2010, 11:39 PM
  4. Painter 8 and Snow Leopard
    By Hal2k in forum Painter
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 7th, 2009, 09:20 PM
  5. Snow Leopard
    By Calamitous Maelstrom in forum Art Critique Center
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 9th, 2008, 09:47 PM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Designed by The Coldest Water, we build the coldest best water bottles, ice packs and best pillows.