My Little Dilema!!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

My Little Dilema!!

Hello everyone.

I am studying a degree in illustration, and i am almost halfway through my final year. I have always wanted to be a concept artist for film and television, and went into this degree with the intention of doing so, but my lecturers wont let me learn how to become a production designer, they keep making me do editorial and advertising illustrations instead.

this is surprising, because at the beggining of this final year, i was set to do a storyboard project, which went extremely well, and the lecturers thought so too.

i was advised not to do design work, as it would lower my marks, but this means that if i do what they tell me, i will get a really good grade, but a career that i dont want, but if i go ahead and do some design work, i will have a portfolio that will be more likley to get me the job that i want, maybe in tv or film, but i will get bad marks as i was told.

this is frustrating as i have very good drawing and design skills, that i believe are not being properly noticed or appreciated.

i am a bit stuck as to what to do.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    i'm no where near the end of the program i'm in, but i'd advise you to do what your instructors ask. you can do whatever you want for your portfolio, which is what employers will go on.

get your various assignments done, then do some design work, after class or whatever, show your extra stuff to your instructors and ask them what they think. get advice. i find that most teachers are willing to help all they can, especially if you're going above and beyond.