Jagged line problem

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Jagged line problem

Hi, all. I'm a newbie, and a proud owner of a Cintiq 21ux. But I've been having my issues with it. Mostly when it comes to line quality.

My favorite brush is the felt marker. Now, when I open a new file in Photoshop Elements 4, and use the default PSE4 size for my canvas, at which point the resolution is 72 DPI, the lines I draw come out looking nice and smooth. But when I use a letter size canvas (8 1/2 x 11), the lines look jagged, at least onscreen (when I enlarge the image the lines smooth out). Is there any way to fix this? If it's a resolution problem, what resolution should I use? The default resolution for letter-size canvas is 300 DPI. Thanks for any help you can give this poor frazzled Dragon.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Howdy!

I'm not sure if this is what you are experiencing but here's a little bit of photoshop info:

1) open your 8.5x11 300 dpi canvas. enlarge it to 100%. Draw a nice curved line with your preferred brush. It probably looks nice and smooth.

2) use the magnifying glass tool to zoom out one time (66% magnification) Now the line probably looks a little jagged.

3) zoom out again (50%) Is the line smooth again?

The lines generally look smoother at increments of 50% (...25%...12.5%...) than at increments of 66%, 33% etc (probably due to the way monitors work or the way photoshop and other programs translate the reduced-size images)

Another factor to consider is... When you get jagged lines, is your document in bitmapped mode instead of grayscale, rgb or cmyk?

Hope one of those two options helps you resolve the problem.

-Michael

3. The Following User Says Thank You to PsiBug For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following