Painter8 2 windows of same image open at the same time?

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Question Painter8 2 windows of same image open at the same time?

    Howdy people,

    I have been using Painter for some time now, but there is one feature that I am really missing compared to photoshop, and that is the ability to have 2 windows open of the same picture but at different zooms.

    I find it a real hassle to have to zoom in and out all the time, and I would love to have a 2nd window open that is zoomed out.

    thanks for you help

    www.robertomarchesi.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    990
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    photoshop does that? omg how?

    man that prog never ceases to surprise me.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Haverford, PA
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    if it wont let you do it the regular photoshop way.. couldnt u open a new file and copy paste. or rename a copy of the same file and open both of them? i can think of multiple ways to achieve that.. - chudds

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    chud, I think R_M means to have the same file opened twice so that one can be zoomed in and worked on and he can look at the other one to see how its affecting the whole piece... if you have two diffenent files open with different file names, whatever you do to one file won't display on the other.

    Hope that makes sense... and I hope I'm understanding R_M correctly.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,089
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 197 Times in 170 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Hi,

    In Painter, we can't open a second window of the working image. However, there are a few ways to view your image:

    The working image, of course (any version, of course).

    File > Clone to make an exact copy of the image at 100% zoom (any version, 5, 5.5, 6, 7, and 8). This is not a dynamic view, so you'll need to close the Clone then use File > Clone again when you want to see your image at another stage of development.

    Window > View Info opens the Info palette where you can see a small view of the working image and it changes dynamically as you paint, draw, etc. (Painter 8 and Painter 8.1 only).

    At the bottom of the image window, in the left corner, click the Navigation icon (in Painter 8, the binoculars icon, second icon from the left). A small window will pop up displaying the current view of your working image with a red rectangle indicating what area of the image is currently displayed. Click and drag the red rectangle to navigate to another area of the image and that area will now be displayed. Click in the image to close the pop up window.

    In Painter 7, click the up pointing triangle (third icon from the left at the lower left corner of the image window to open the pop up view of your working image with the red rectangle as described above, for Painter 8.

    Please do not PM me with Painter questions. Instead, post them here where everyone can benefit from them. Thanks!

    Jinny Brown
    Visit PixelAlley.com
    and The PainterFactory
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Jin: thanks! that is what I was looking for, it isn't as hassle free as in Photoshop, but it is a huge improvement on my workflow. :chug:

    Dan: in photoshop you go into Window/Documents/new window and TADAA! you have a replica of the file you are working on and it gets updated realtime!

    www.robertomarchesi.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    990
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    wow so simple, so useful!
    thx

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • 424,149 Artists
  • 3,599,276 Artist Posts
  • 32,941 Sketchbooks
  • 54 New Art Jobs
Art Workshop Discount Inside
Register

Developed Actively by vBSocial.com
The Art Department
SpringOfSea's Sketchbook