heavy critiscm wanted!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

heavy critiscm wanted!

hey guys, i've been a lurker for some time now, but finally decided to post here
    this is just a piece i'm doing in photoshop after not drawing digitally for a while. i've kinda had artist block for a while now, lot's of personal life issues, but thats no excuse! anyway, i'm just a beginner, so hit me with all you got. this piece probably has all sorts of problems, and it's missing a point of focus too.there are parts that are obviously not finished yet. thanks to anyone that replies!

Attached Images Attached Images  
    "I haven't failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work."
    http://jonathanguziart.blogspot.com/
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi there!

The main issue I see with this image is the lighting. The moon isn't nearly as bright as the sun so you wouldn't get so much radiosity off the water as you would if this was sunlight. Everything ought to be darker. For example:

Name:  ship%20h%20copy-corrections.jpg
Views: 468
Size:  132.1 KB

The clouds would get some light on the side 'facing' the moon, not as much on on their opposite side. The stars around the moon would not seem as intense as their own light would be washed out by the much brighter moon's light.

The cave walls wouldn't get a lot of light from the water's reflections since moonlight is rather weak. Only the stones directly facing the moon would be strongly lit, not the entire cave. Basically, the moon itself should be the brightest object in the image. Everything else is only getting a weak echo of its light.

I hope this helps a bit

Last edited by Sekino; August 6th, 2009 at 11:37 PM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following