Sketchbook: Chronicles of a Game Art Student

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Chronicles of a Game Art Student

Hello.. I'm an 18yr old game art student. I'm a rising sophomore in college and last year was my first ever being serious about any sort of drawing education. I'm not that good but I've always had a bit of natural talent and I'd never taken classes. Last year I decided I wanted to get serious and hopefully make a career out of it. I've taken one intro to drawing class and 2 4-day figure drawing classes.

I used to do a lot of self-taught digital stuff, mostly graphic design & drawing with the pen tool. Since I started drawing, I've been working mostly with graphite, but I enjoy charcoal and would love to learn pen/ink. I've never done digital (or for that matter, traditional) painting before. I am currently saving up for a tablet.

I'm hoping this sketchbook will keep me motivated to do a few sketches a day, I have a LOT to work/improve on.

First post just to create the sketchbook, sketch dump incoming (once I figure out how to get them all to be the right size lol)
    Oh, and this was a 15-minute portrait from life. The front view game out badly because the model was staring at me the whole time and it freaked me out LOL

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by freda; August 2nd, 2009 at 08:14 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Looks good, keep it up/ lets see more.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Most of these are from life, either a model, a mirror, or my boyfriend. A few are from photo refs but I took liberties with them, and umm... they're all recent.

A lot of them there are parts I really like, and parts that are really off. (for example, the portrait of my boyfriend with absolutely tiny lips haha)