Art: Which 3D program?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Which 3D program?

I'm starting to learn how to think in 3D on my own thanks to the http://www.secondlife.com game. However I'm interested in learning how to do it apart from the game, and maybe participate in a mod. I know little about 3D, but I know I can do it. If there was ONE program that is the most common or powerful, what would it be?

Reason I ask is that I have very little time and don't want to find out I started learning on the program that noone uses. I'm definitely a noob. I have access to pretty much every 3D program known to man.

Help?

-onezumi-

The Art. The Comic. The Insanity.
    http://www.onezumi.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    3D Studio Max is your best bet, its the most common for the mod scene. It supported the most at least.

Good luck.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Ahh..ok. I think I have that one.

Do you work in 3d? Have any of your work up?

Yeah. I'm new.

-onezumi-

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    He's right, 3D Studio Max is probably your best program. My cousin has been using it for two years and he's pretty awesome with it. However, I use a program called LightWave 7.5, and it has the same capabilities as 3DS Max only it's probably more userfriendly. I've been using it for about 5 months and I'm already pretty good at it. You can see some of my artwork on the link at the bottom of this post. But like I said, if you want to get more advanced then I would suggest 3DSMax.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'm also a Lightwave user, using LW 7.0
    But 3ds max is just "bigger" - it has some more capabilities that LW imho, but it's hard to use I think. Should be no problem if you put some effort into it.

The scene and amount of plugins/software for MAX is propably the biggest.