Portfolio Site Review?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Portfolio Site Review?

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Portfolio Site Review?

I firstly apologise if this is the wrong bit of the site to put this in, and secondly if theres an existing thread this should have gone in.

Anyway, basically I graduated last week, and now I really need to get into looking for employment. I've had a site up for a while now, but I'm feeling quite tentative about sending a link off to anyone.

Basically, I'd like as thorough and detaileld contructive criticism on it - both the site and the work on it as possible, just because I really want to get the whole thing polished for maximum effects.

Please don't pull any punches, as it helps me in the long run if you don't!

The address is www.alexjholt.com

Thanks in advance!
    Alex

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'll start with the art first, I think you should change the "home" image, the one thats a bunch of images put together with your quote. I think one large view of your best piece would be more effective. My first impression when I saw what's there is "wow that's alot of buttons" because I though the row at the top were buttons too.

2nd I'd suggest removing the "Traditional Art" section entirely, it doesn't help you, your other work is stronger and they look like school assignments. You should consider replaceing it by splitting your digital paintings section into Creatures and Environments since those are your specialties.

Remember your porfolio is all about the art, I really don't think you need the "news" section on the right, you've already got a blog for that.

You could consider adding a resume somewhere on the site (leave out your real address). Along with putting somewhere on the site what type of work you're looking for.

Anyway I like your work , especially your environments, very well done. Hope this helps.