Horde raid

View testimonialsView Artwork

Thread: Horde raid

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Horde raid

Hi everyone!

Just got done with this piece. I have a nasty habit of not finishing what I start so I figured why not submit something to the Blizzard fan art section. It definitely helped me finally finish something.

Im very new at this so please leave any crits! Thanks!

Hope you enjoy!

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Cool! I love Warcraft and WoW's art style!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks Mathias! Me too, Blizzard has been a huge inspiration from the first Warcraft to Starcraft to Diablo 2 and all the art involved with them.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I suggest a study on rim lighting, or maybe using reference. That would give you more than I could possibly explain in this post. Also, facial studies are key and something I need much work on.

The picture seems to lack wholesomeness in general. I think that too many things are covered in what seems to be pitch black. The poses and the composition could be improved by starting out with a thumbnail and block in the main shapes VERY roughly. Do gestural drawings of the figures first, and then dress them in armour, clothing, weapons etc. You're focusing too much on the details and losing sight of the big picture.

I messed around with it in photoshop a little. I think I upped the brightness, removed some contrast and desaturated, not necessarily in that order. In general when you are going for realistic lighting/style be very careful about saturating too much.

Hope this helps!

Attached Images Attached Images  

6. The Following User Says Thank You to isso09 For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks for the great advice isso09!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following