Wise words welcome

View testimonialsView Artwork

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Wise words welcome

I'd like to hear people's comments on some of my works that I've done lately. I'm only a high school student but I've been thinking about doing this for a living some day.

Wise words welcome

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Last edited by Calmari; July 16th, 2009 at 09:51 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi there,

Very nice pieces. I really like the last one, with the trees and snow. Really interesting colors. I would like to see more details on the trees closes to us - I see that the little branches poking out from the snow have nice detail to them, but the trees themselves look a little sketchy and unfinished.

Id love to see the branches have nice detail, "give it some character" (thanks, Bob!)

Also, one small suggestion on the first picture (the guy's face), is that the hairline above his forehead seems to start at an even angle, like he is wearing a hair hat. it just looks like the hair isn't growing out of his head, just lays on top.

I hope this helps you, Im no way a pro, but these are jsut a couple of things I noticed.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Impressive stuff! It seems like you've developed some good advanced skills and habits . You have a nice variety of subject matter here.

Pic 1 (caricature): Good confident line work, not blurry or smudged. No distracting photoshop filters. good variety of textures. pleasing color. Good use of light and shadow. Eyes are a strong focal area.
    I think the ear is a weak area here. The anatomy of the ear could be more realistic. Also, the fleshy part of the nearer nostril is about half the size of the far nostril. And the near side of the forehead seems shorter than the far side. Those are some minor perspective issues although they could be attributed to intentional deformation.