Bookcover WIP

View testimonialsView Artwork

Thread: Bookcover WIP

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Bookcover WIP

This is going to be a bookcover for my portfolio.

The book is called "In Pursuit of the Green Dragon" It´s a story set in medieaval England.

I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to proper digital paintings so this is a big project for me and I need all the help I can get.

So far I have the composition set up and some colours layed out.
    I feel a bit uncertain on how to proceed.

The colours are all in one layer by the way. Maybe I should have the woman on a separate layer?

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by Frida Bergholtz; June 8th, 2009 at 12:49 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Yes I have found more layers the better. it makes it so much easier to fix mistakes or change ideas. Just remember to change layers as you go. i keep forgetting

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by IKV Nexis View Post
    Yes I have found more layers the better. it makes it so much easier to fix mistakes or change ideas. Just remember to change layers as you go. i keep forgetting
    Yes thats true but more layers can also makes things messier and less intuitive. I did put the woman on a separate layer though. We´ll see how many more I´ll use.

Heres a version with some placeholder text to show you what I´m planning and a version to show you only the front of the book.

Now I´m going to bed.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Frida Bergholtz View Post
    Yes thats true but more layers can also makes things messier and less intuitive.
    I wholeheartedly agree - but it's very important to organize the layers that you do have. Have stuff that's above be on higher layers, and vice versa. It'll all make sense if you just take the time to puzzle it out.