Selflearning

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Selflearning

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Selflearning

Hi,

I've been a member of these boards for years and have really enjoyed the art.
    Now that I'm done with my studies and am working full-time as a mechanical engineer, I thought I should give learning to draw a shot.

I would like to learn it all, but figure drawing is what I'm mostly interested in.
    Rough figure sketches/studies make me drooll

I am not sure if this is the right forum to ask, but what would be a good place to start such a query?
    What I've been doing today is try to sketch poses with as few lines as possible. I copied the poses from posemaniacs.
    Also, I have a copy of Hogharts Dynamic Anatomy, maybe that's a good place to start?

All suggestions are appreciated, thanks

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Certainly more ways you can go about it, but from what I got out of trolling through different sketchbooks, a couple of names tend to pop up here and there and it is the drawing approaches of Andrew Loomis that will guide you with figure drawing. As well as Bridgmans' "complete guide to drawing from life" and Burne Hogarth's dynamic stuff. Well the list go on, but my own personal approach is usually find something that you have been avoiding to draw (for me that would be hands, feet, ears and noses) and start from there.

I hope any of that is helpful, congrats on your position. It might be nice to find a niche to marry your career and love of art. I'm thinking robocop-esque style.

Sketchbook

Insert very insightful quotes here ...
    - get back to work!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi strings.

I've also heard good things about Loomis, will look more closely into that!