Oil Brush - Artrage - Painter

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Oil Brush - Artrage - Painter

Hi there!

I spent half of today trying to replicate the Oil Brushes from Artrage in Painter, because I really like their 'feel' (it feels much more natural than Painters Oilbrushes to me), but to no avail. Although I'm new to digital Painting and just bought Painter X, so I don't know if I considered everything. I tried to do a nearly 100% copy - is it even possible?

Maybe some experienced users can help me out here?

thanks in advance

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Have you tried the Real Bristle Brushes Category?

I don't think Painter seems to do the same kind of "engine" equivalent of Art Rage after trying it.

For example Art Rage deals with impasto a lot better than Painter. It actually takes into consideration when you use the palette knife you're scraping what you've done with the impasto. Taking a "Depth Eraser" or "Equalizer" brush doesn't cut it. Often times the Impasto looks...too computer generated unlike Art Rage. Even the eraser in Art Rage makes better sense than Painter's when it comes to handling oil and impasto. The eraser erases the depth first then the color. Painter erases the color and leaves the depth - wtf?

I do think however, Painter has better bristle brushes than Art Rage (which is to say Art Rage lacks them and I'm hoping this may be in the next version ArtRage 3) Artrage has a better natural emulation of oil paint, it's depth and dispersal.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,849 Times in 598 Posts
    Follows
    Following