color picker only selects white
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Talking color picker only selects white

    I am having trouble with a bug in painter 9. normally, i use digital watercolor brushes on the canvas over a line drawing. i also have another layer above that which i paint opaquely on. my problem is that if I accidentally use a watercolor brush on the opaque layer it causes a bug where the color picker will only select white and not the appropriate color. ive tried restarting but that doesnt fix it. thanks for your help!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lisbon, I think...
    Posts
    912
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 153 Times in 107 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Hehe, that sounds like Painter 6 before the patch to 6.1

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    94
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    killerzombie, dry the canvas. if it's not helped, turn on and off "pick up underlying color" in layers tab.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to teho For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    thanks for the suggestion teho but it doesnt solve the problem

    this bug is pretty easy to replicate for me anyway. just fill the canvas with a color. then create a new layer set to default, not gel or multiply. then, if you use digital watercolor on the new layer the brushstrokes will have white edges when you paint. next undo the watercolor brushstrokes. now if you use the color picker it will only select white for large parts of the image.

    im not sure if this effects other versions of painter besides 9...

    Last edited by killerzombie; April 14th, 2009 at 12:22 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cary, North Carolina
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    yeah this bug still happens for me in painter 11...good grief!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to artguff For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    yeah this bug still happens for me in painter 11...good grief!

    unbelievable... i was thinking of upgrading to 11 if it would get rid of the bug but there's no point i guess.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    i found a work-around if anyone is interested. kind of a pain in the neck though...

    1. use save as to save your .rif file as a .psd file
    2. close it, then open it again (the .psd)
    3. the color picker should now work, but you wont be able to use your watercolor layer anymore (it will be dried) because .psd files dont save that information.
    4. copy the ok version of the layer that got corrupted from the .psd file
    5. use "paste in place" to paste it into the .rif file.
    6. delete the bad layer from the .rif file and it should work ok again.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    D.C
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 42 Times in 24 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I still can't believe they haven't fixed this! Ugh....

    -------------
    "I was born; six gun in my hand; behind the gun; I make my final stand"~Bad Company
    [URL="http://www.facebook.com/mikonos[/URL]
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    It's now 2010 in september, and the bug is still here more than a year on.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  12. #10
    ikken's Avatar
    ikken is offline Her Wings Glow According To Her Mood © Level 8 Gladiator: Thracian
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,047
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 195 Times in 158 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    It's way older - painter 9 was released in 2004 (2005?), and corel still haven't fixed it since than

    btw, I assume there's gonna be a new painter version announce in a few months?
    It's been ~ 19 months since painter 11 initial release.

    on the fourth day of glitchmas my painter™ gave to me
    four random crashes, three broken brushes, two system hangups & one corrupted workspace
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lisbon, I think...
    Posts
    912
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 153 Times in 107 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Still using Painter 6.1 on win7 x64, works for me, something that the later versions never did, sure it has a load of bugs but if you know what not to do it's actually quite stable.

    As for the delay of the new version, Corel would have to do a lot to make Painter up-to-date.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  14. #12
    fes's Avatar
    fes is offline Level Up - All Access Level 4 Gladiator: Meridiani
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I doubt we'll see a new version till first half of next year at the earliest. No-one quote me, as it's purely a guess.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    615
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 162 Times in 127 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fes View Post
    No-one quote me,
    ....childish, I know. :p

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  16. #14
    fes's Avatar
    fes is offline Level Up - All Access Level 4 Gladiator: Meridiani
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    heh heh!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  17. #15
    ikken's Avatar
    ikken is offline Her Wings Glow According To Her Mood © Level 8 Gladiator: Thracian
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,047
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 195 Times in 158 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fes View Post
    I doubt we'll see a new version till first half of next year at the earliest. No-one quote me, as it's purely a guess.
    if painter is still on ~ 24 month per version schedule, it will be exactly two years in the February :<

    on the fourth day of glitchmas my painter™ gave to me
    four random crashes, three broken brushes, two system hangups & one corrupted workspace
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  18. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Chihuahua mexico
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 43 Times in 30 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    this bug its easier to deal, the problem its that you are saving in riff, save it in psd close it and open it again, you dont need to cloes entirely the painetr software, and becuase its a psd format the bug will stop.

    There are no such things as bad art, just tight deadlines.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •