Concept art, entertainment design, and industrial design

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Concept art, entertainment design, and industrial design

Hello
    I am currently a sophomore studying industrial design at RISD. So far i like it, and i've had it in my head that im gonna be a product designer for awhile. But as i think about it...do i really want to design toothbrushes and things for a career? I know designers design lots of cool things but sometimes...they just design the most mundane objects. I really enjoy making things too, which is party why i got into industrial design, but i feel like i can work on that on my own.

I've been looking at concept art and stuff for a long time now. It always interests me to see the art behind movies and games and stuff. It struck me that maybe, i dont wanna design toothbrushes for a living and i want to design crazy robots and cars and things. The question is...is industrial design a suitable path for this? its too late for me to switch majors now...but i can take illustration courses as non major credits. When i applied to schools i was accepted to Art Center and RISD. I chose RISD because i wanted more of a college feel and it was not practical to go to art center due to housing and transport issues...perhaps i made the wrong choice?

So i guess the question is how can i continue with my industrial design education while still maintaining possibilities for a career in concept art or entertainment design?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Faeruithir View Post
    It struck me that maybe, i dont wanna design toothbrushes for a living and i want to design crazy robots and cars and things. The question is...is industrial design a suitable path for this?