How To Easily Make Your Cintiq/Tablet Better
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 125

Thread: How To Easily Make Your Cintiq/Tablet Better

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 65 Times in 3 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    Wink How To Easily Make Your Cintiq/Tablet Better

    I tried searching for this link to see if it had already been posted, but the search engine here just returns pretty much every thread in the subsection.

    So here it is anyway:
    http://junkyardsam.blogspot.com/2009...djustment.html

    What this guide aids you to do is ditch the dumbdumb pressure settings of the Wacom drivers and make your own manually along a three-point curve.

    So for example, though before you could select "Soft" settings, it didn't change the fact that you still had to press super hard to get to that 1024st level of sensitivity.

    But by following the guide, you can change these to anything you want, and set the middle point wherever you please. I opted to keep a linear pressure setting, and to reduce the nullified pressure from 40 to 10 so that, just as with real media, if I touch the stylus to the Cintiq super lightly then I get a correspondingly super light line. I don't know for certain whether the "click threshold" setting of Wacom's driver lets me reduce as much as I did; it doesn't seem as if it did.

    So now my pressure curve is as follows:
    10, 409, 818
    which means I only have to use about 80 percent of the same force upon the stylus I was using before to reach full pressure.
    Now it's so much easier to play with the whole range. It's really made using the Cintiq feel a lot more natural, and it makes calibration within programs easier too.

    Righto, have fun, keep well hydrated, try baking your own pizza it's so much cheaper than buying, exfoliate at least once a week, take it easy, bye.

    Last edited by A. Sobriquet; April 7th, 2009 at 07:00 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. The Following 62 Users Say Thank You to A. Sobriquet For This Useful Post:

    + Show/Hide list of the thanked


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Awesome tip!! Worked beautifully. Now maybe my felt nibs will last longer. Thank you!

    "It is ten percent how you draw, and ninety percent what you draw." - Andrew Loomis

    Artastic's Sketchbook

    Visit my new username and sketchbook at Thor's Hammer
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Poland, Warsaw
    Posts
    574
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 172 Times in 103 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Worked for me, too. It's pretty silly how editing a simple line changes world of drawing Intuos4 users should be a happier a lot

    It's now much more convenient, it's easy to make high pressure strokes, while you still can easily and precisely use low pressure strokes.

    But.. anyone has idea why Wacom would remove the feature of adjusting pressure curve?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tonic View Post
    But.. anyone has idea why Wacom would remove the feature of adjusting pressure curve?



    So you press harder and wear out your nibs and have to buy new ones from wacom? Lawl.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I am on Windows 7, using a bamboo pen/touch.

    There were two tablet-related services running, I stopped "TabletServicePen".

    The dat file was located in: C: \Users\\AppData\Roaming\WTablet and was called "Pen_Tablet.dat". This file can be opened with notepad. Also, an easy way to get to the appdata folder without messing with folder settings is to just go to start>run and type in "%appdata%" and hit enter, or in vista/win7, type "appdata" into the search bar (in the start menu) and hit enter.

    My settings for both tip and eraser were:
    UpperPressureThreshold 81
    LowerPressureThreshold 73
    PressureCurveControlPoint 81 0 512 512 1023 1023

    and I changed both to:
    UpperPressureThreshold 22
    LowerPressureThreshold 14
    PressureCurveControlPoint 22 0 383 511 768 1023

    Notice I also changed the threshold numbers. I don't know if what I did was done correctly or not, but now I can get a line going with just the slightest touch! When the threshold was set to 81, I had to press very hard to get a line going even with the adjustments to the other numbers.

    EDIT: After restarting the computer, my changes to the upper and lower pressure thresholds had disappeared! I changed them back and restarted 3 more times with the same effect. On the forth restart my changes stayed. Afterwards I went back to my original dat file, downloaded the Pressure Curve Tool, and changed the pressure levels with that. Worked flawlessly and so far my changes have stayed put!

    Last edited by Pam_Thompson; June 17th, 2010 at 10:24 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. #6
    HunterKiller_'s Avatar
    HunterKiller_ is offline Registered User Level 15 Gladiator: Spartacus' Hoplomachi
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    2,126
    Thanked 1,004 Times in 654 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.

    I noticed that when I changed that when I alter the click threshold in the driver, it changes some numbers in the property above the pressure setting in the configuration file. Wonder how these work.


    EDIT: Ok, those properties I mentioned are the 'UpperPressureThreshold 41' and 'LowerPressureThreshold 33' (those values are the default).
    I adjusted the click threshold down to the 2nd notch from the lowest and the values were changed in the configuration to 20 and 12 respectively.
    This did not affect the pressure curve. Now my pen is really sensitive.

    Last edited by HunterKiller_; April 9th, 2009 at 05:03 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. #7
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Thank you so much for this post. I also noticed this in addition when browsing Wacom's forums: http://forum.wacom.eu/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=850

    There are friction sheets for the intuos3 according to Wacom. So with the tweaking of the drivers and friction sheets you can do some nice updates to the intuos3 line.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    any idea on how to do this on a mac?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. #9
    HunterKiller_'s Avatar
    HunterKiller_ is offline Registered User Level 15 Gladiator: Spartacus' Hoplomachi
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    2,126
    Thanked 1,004 Times in 654 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CIRE View Post
    any idea on how to do this on a mac?
    Hahaha. I'll refrain from making anti-mac comments.

    Google for where to find the wacom configuration file and how to stop the service.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  11. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CIRE View Post
    any idea on how to do this on a mac?
    Yeah... I ask the same question...

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Poland, Warsaw
    Posts
    574
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 172 Times in 103 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Arshes Nei View Post
    There are friction sheets for the intuos3 according to Wacom. So with the tweaking of the drivers and friction sheets you can do some nice updates to the intuos3 line.
    Or simply you can grind a flat overlay sheet with sandpaper with 800-1000 or so granulation

    Last edited by Tonic; April 11th, 2009 at 09:56 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  13. #12
    Brashen's Avatar
    Brashen is offline Ralph Abou Raad - Professional Level 9 Gladiator: Hoplomachi
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    1,498
    Thanks
    230
    Thanked 491 Times in 271 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    So this would only benefit people using the soft settings? I keep mine at the default settings, how would this help me?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  14. #13
    HunterKiller_'s Avatar
    HunterKiller_ is offline Registered User Level 15 Gladiator: Spartacus' Hoplomachi
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    2,126
    Thanked 1,004 Times in 654 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brashen View Post
    So this would only benefit people using the soft settings? I keep mine at the default settings, how would this help me?
    I used my tablet on a slightly firm setting and this was still really helpful.

    If you use Photoshop a lot, you'll want to do this tweak, since PS doesn't have brush pressure adjustment.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Poland, Warsaw
    Posts
    574
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 172 Times in 103 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Brashen, not necessarily, you can set in reversed way - harder presses for low pressure brush strokes.

    HunterKiller, are there graphic programs that allows to adjust pressure?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  16. #15
    HunterKiller_'s Avatar
    HunterKiller_ is offline Registered User Level 15 Gladiator: Spartacus' Hoplomachi
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    2,126
    Thanked 1,004 Times in 654 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tonic View Post
    HunterKiller, are there graphic programs that allows to adjust pressure?
    Pretty much every other popular drawing software lets you adjust the pressure response of brushes. Painter, SAI, openCanvas.

    But apparently Adobe doesn't care about us enough to implement such a simple feature.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  17. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    oakland
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    hands down the most mindblowing thing on this entire website..

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  18. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    2,035
    Thanks
    895
    Thanked 850 Times in 290 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Hoooooly shit. I have been complaining about this forever because pressing hard hurts my wrist. This will probably ease my tendonitis considerably!

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  19. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by nonie View Post
    Hoooooly shit. I have been complaining about this forever because pressing hard hurts my wrist. This will probably ease my tendonitis considerably!
    that ... and less fapping. :-)

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  20. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    217
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 29 Times in 17 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    someone needs to sticky this.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  21. #20
    Arshes Nei's Avatar
    Arshes Nei is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    6,802
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Theoretically speaking I would say it's possible for a mac. Is there something similar to a /users/application data/ structure on Mac?

    Is there a Wtablet folder?

    I would think it would be something labeled like "wacom_Tablet"

    Now the only thing I don't know is how you would stop a "service" on a mac and restart it.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  22. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lisbon, I think...
    Posts
    912
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 153 Times in 107 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Ah... the joy of having an older Wacom 8) :



    Or just get Painter and adjust the pressure scale, for other programs you can correct it using that workaround for newer drivers.

    I've always wondered why Wacom would remove this useful feature from the modern drivers, their software/driver department is what I would call a bunch of ******.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  23. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    London, ON
    Posts
    316
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 132 Times in 45 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    This tip is amazing. Thanks for posting the info.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  24. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Mac users can find this file under Users/User Name/Library/Preferences/com.wacom.wacomtablet.prefs. Just change the numbers as you would on PC then logout or restart your computer.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  25. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to AccidentHappy For This Useful Post:


  26. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    520
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 204 Times in 81 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Does this work on an old Graphire4?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  27. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Romania.TL
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    this works for all wacom tablets, as the 'wacom_tablet.dat' exists for all wacom drivers. follow the exact same steps.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  28. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tanj View Post
    Mac users can find this file under Users/User Name/Library/Preferences/com.wacom.wacomtablet.prefs. Just change the numbers as you would on PC then logout or restart your computer.
    Hi I located the files you helpfully directed me to but when I double click on it to adjust it it says that there is no default application to open the document. Any suggestions?
    Many thanks
    Brtt2b

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  29. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Sorry ignore previous - got it sorted
    Regards
    brtt2b

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  30. #28
    Brashen's Avatar
    Brashen is offline Ralph Abou Raad - Professional Level 9 Gladiator: Hoplomachi
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    1,498
    Thanks
    230
    Thanked 491 Times in 271 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I cant find any of the files he's talking about....I'm using Vista 64. Anybody trid this with Vista? Icant find the wacom_tablet.dat file anywhere. Is it under a different name?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  31. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    just search your C: drive using wacom_tablet, i can find it just fine.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  32. The Following User Says Thank You to Calamitous Maelstrom For This Useful Post:


  33. #30
    Brashen's Avatar
    Brashen is offline Ralph Abou Raad - Professional Level 9 Gladiator: Hoplomachi
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    1,498
    Thanks
    230
    Thanked 491 Times in 271 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Nope search turned out nothing

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Members who have read this thread: 9

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •