Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: the_jos shows that everyone can learn to draw

Thanks

the_jos shows that everyone can learn to draw

Around september 2008 I started drawing again. The last time I spend some time on it (besides doodles during dull meetings) was about twenty years ago.
    I don't work in the graphics industry and don't have any education in this field. Drawing is just something that makes me happy.

I've lost the very early drawings, the earliest drawing I have is from early October 2008. I've attached it to show how great an artist I was back then
    The other drawing attached was made about a month ago.

All time I have for drawing is in the evenings and weekends, I can't spend hours a day on drawing because I have a fulltime job and a household to run.
    Most of the time it's a lost hour somewhere in the evening.

I think I made some progress in the past 6 months and hope I can inspire people who think they can't draw to rethink that.
    I don't have any special talent or something. If I can get better anyone can. Even with limited time.

Let's start the journey with an obvious observation. You need to get moving to get somewhere.
    That's what the early attachment is about. My (re)start on my journey.
    I was back in newbie-village with very little skill and not much inspiration.
    The later picture is somewhere along the road. I've made more recent drawings which I will post someday.
    The end of the journey? I don't know, but I hope I meet a lot of interesting people while travelling.

Along the way I will tell you something on the stuff that inspired me or somewhat helped me to pass some hurdles.

On the drawings.
    The early one is close to the doodles I usually made when having a boring meeting. It's A4 regular 80g paper with HB pencil. Imaginary.