Decoding this guy's digital painting style
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Decoding this guy's digital painting style

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Icon Decoding this guy's digital painting style

Alright, I'm in absolute love with this guy's process, but it seems I'm not experienced enough to really decode all of the elements.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_-W3u7MkmM

I see that he blocks in some darks and chips away at that, but he works somewhat sporadically. Though it is gorgeous to watch. Could anyone help me figure out exactly what's going on here? Maybe break down some of his tricks if you can spot them? It might be self-explanatory to those with more experience, but I'm a middling beginner at this point.

He's got about 15 other videos in his related stuff.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Well his technique seems really simple, its nothing revolutionary either....you mentioned it yourself already actually - he's rendering from black to lighter greys and white, this can be done either be erasing (since he has a white background) or paint it.

He's using alot of soft brushes to mark up the geometry, but then tightens it up with sharper edged brushes.

There's really not much to it, its all talent, there's no tricks behind this.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to ScribbleHEAD For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Yeah, what ScrbbleHEAD said. This guys not using any "tricks" at all really, just rendering form. He's just working from dark to light the way many oil painters do, except in a digital format you don't have to worry about what you're painting on top of, so his method is essentially:
    1. establish a quick silhouette that's vaguely the shape your looking for.
    2. block in the major planes for the forms
    3. continue refining both the silhouette and the rendering of the forms to include smaller and smaller details.