Thanks

The elusive painter 6?

Hi there, I'm fairly new here but I've been driven here in search of some possible answers from a community that just might be the only one out there that could help!

Long ago I had purchased painter 5 (those horrible over sized floppies)
    And now I'm trying to find painter 6 or 7, but some of the sites I'm finding them listed for astronomical prices!
    I'm a starving artist who is just trying to get by, since it is such an old program, is there anyway to track it down for a more decent price? (Free is always good, haha) but seriously, I am really in a bind here looking for it. I would like to buy it officially, but not for a lot of the prices listed by private sellers on amazon or ebay!

Thank you for your time, and I hope this is in the right topic..>.>;;
    P.S.
    I'd like to post some of my work soon, but unfortunately I was a conformist and joined DeviantArt years ago and had all but that to stick with..*shudder*
    Thankfully I no longer use that service, so keep an eye out for me here!
    (Just incase you are bored or interested: http://hikoriku.deviantart.com/ )
    -Kim

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Sketchbook is one click away:
    Never forget the Magicman

Thanks
    Thanked 4,262 Times in 2,074 Posts
    I lucked out and got Painter 6 off ebay for like 30 bucks along with 8. Problem is, I can't seem to update 6 to 6.1 the process freezes when asking for a reboot (not my computer, but apparently there's a hanging update process)

Thanks
    You should have been at the right time, there was a bunch with the can on ebay for 60 bucks some years ago, now it's almost impossible since people who got it don't want to let go, it's by far the best version all around, granted that the current versions have features that are missing in 6 but all the main tools are there anyway.