Thread: Crits Wanted

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Crits Wanted

Hi guys,
    Let me start off by introducing myself:
    I am a freelance artist who has worked as a display designer,
    some illustration (nothing major), a little theater set and prop design/construction, and I have exhibited my work as a "fine artist". I work in traditional materials: graphite, ink, pastel,charcoal,acrylic paint, and watercolor, as well as digital mediums.
    I do sculpting (from wood, styrofoam, clay and paper mache)and a very limited amount of molding and casting.
    Most of what I do has been a solitary self-taght endeavor, although I do have an Associciate's of Arts degree (Art Foundations), a Computer Graphics Technology cert, and I am working on a CGT associates degree, currently.

Whew!! O.K. that takes care of my background. what brings me to the Critique Center, is because I feel I've hit a very hard, very impassible brick wall in my artistic career

Some of my known issues are:
    Structure/Construction of form.
    Proportion and perspective.
    Value and lighting. ( I tend to make things too dark and heavy)
    Composition.
    And finally, speed. I need to get faster.
    I know that is a quite a laundry list already, but I am dedicated to improving.
    I need suggestions about what post here first... Something that might help people catch some problems, which I wasn't aware of, or have suggestions as to how to improve. For starters Ihave a sketchbook thread, a sculpture thread, and a storyboard thread (It's the last post on the first page...i know they are terrible) I have been revisiting the basics:
    anatomy (been studying Bridgeman and Loomis)
    basic geometric shapes, and how they relate to the building of all forms.
    I'm really looking forward to some constructive advice...
    Thanks, so much

Zombifried

"Try not. Do or do not!! There is no try"
    -Yoda, The Empire Strikes Back

zombifried's sketchbook
    zombifried's sculpture thread