Tips for learning to draw from imagination?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Tips for learning to draw from imagination?

Hi,
    I'm a hobbyist 3d modeller and the lack of ability to draw from my imagination really impairs my ability to translate my concept ideas to a drawing then to a model. Usually I'll end up asking a friend to help me out with a concept or just model without one.
    I'm wondering if anyone has any tips or resources to help learn to draw from imagination.
    By the way, the reason I specify from imagination is that I actually can draw quite well, but only what I see. If my subject is in front of me I can make a pretty good drawing of it with good shading, perspective, proptions etc. But for the life of me I can not render anything from my imagination.
    Any tips?

Thanks in advance

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    This is what Manley told me once... Its all about telling a story, when concepting... First thing is think of something generic.. like.. lets go with Ogre...

what is the first thing you think of when you think of Ogre.. Okay..

BIG, Harry, Leather loin cloth, maybe a pouch, possibly green, but mainly tan, big nose.. maybe.. etc. VERY GENERIC!

NOW make up a story around him... start giving him charecter flaws, give him personality...