Any concept artist in Tokyo??
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Any concept artist in Tokyo??

Hi everyone ,
    I'm new to CA , excuse me if the post is not at the appropriate place !!

Ok , I'm living in Tokyo for few years now , and i've been doing graphic design there , i recently quit the company i was working for to learn by myself concept art , illustration !

My question is , are there professionnal concept artist actually living and working in Tokyo , to get some "tips" not really tips but just how you guys have suceed to work there and if the japanese market is open to foreigners in this domain , mean does a japanese buisness level is required for example? what are the company interested etc...

I don't actually feel i can do this job , not with my actual level anyway (that's why i keep on studying harder every day) , but if i can make any contact there ( if located in Tokyo and interested to meet i pay the beer ^^ ) well any information on the market/work here would be much appreciate , as i know nothing about it !!
    I just find out concept art recently ( well i knew it but never pay attention to it , not like now) and like i said ,any , even small , advice , contact, whatever would be really appreciate !!

Thanks !!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Zaxser is offline Steph Laberis Fanboy Level 6 Gladiator: Provocator
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Concept Art is a ridiculously competitive field as it is. Gai Jin in Japan do not do that well. To put it in perspective, Nintendo, one of the largest and well known Japanese game companies, has only hired one foreign concept artist in their history. That was Andrew Jones. I know there are a few (mostly french) illustrators who do okay in Japan, and maybe some more scraping by on doujinshi and such.

I'm not saying it's impossible, but this path just makes it more difficult for yourself on a road that isn't easy to begin with.