Questions about the Academy of Art University
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Questions about the Academy of Art University

okay so im a senior in high school and my whole life i have considered myself a decent artist(not superb) but i enjoy drawing from time to time.anyways ive been searching for schools because i would like to get in the artistic side of video games. So the academy of art seems like a great school but i seen on a website that there graduation rate is only 33%? is this school extremely difficult or is there a reason for the low graduation rate?also do i stand a chance of making it there because im not a superb artist? because i live in ohio and i dont want to go all the way to san francisco if I'm not gonna be able to make it.

thank you

Edit: also i would be going for animation and visual effects if that makes any difference

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    here is a 100+ page thread about AAU. I'm sure your concerns were talked about somewhere in there.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I actually considered AAU for awhile until my mother said she wouldn't pay for anything that wasn't East Coast. However, I still can remember a ton of stuff about it soo yeaa, I'm going to try to answer this question to the best of my knowledge (:

Academy of Art University has a 100% acceptance rate, which I'm sure you already know about. However, by the sophomore year, there is already an 80% drop out rate. This is due to the fact than many students take advantage of the 100% acceptance. They think since they did poorly in high school, they'll just study art. Unfortunately, many of them aren't cut out for it seeing as they've never even picked up a pencil in their entire life. Hence the reason there is an 80% dropout rate. Not everyone is cut out to be an artist.