Artists In Seattle

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Artists In Seattle

Hey,
    My name is Cameron McKay. I'm working on a community project for art students in Tahoma Senior High School. What i'm up to is trying to find professional artists to come in on an Art Day and talk to them on what it takes to be an artist, different jobs you can have, new mediums and themes, and generally the paths to which they can take to become an artist. At the moment they lack motivation and inspiration in their work. From the conversations i've been having with the teacher, their work is becoming halfed ass more and more. This is the school I graduated in last year (im 18 years old). So I know from experience, that the art programs at the school, aren't really up to date and they really don't stress the work and steps it takes to be an artist. I got this insight after i graduated and talked to an art mentor of mine, Mike Vaillencourt. This is something that is missing for them, and it is something i'd like to create.
    What is created in the art day is what i want to use to get them started on a small portfolio that will be presented in an art gallery in Seattle. This will be able to get them into the art communities in the city and simply confidence in their work. The students will not be the only ones getting something from this art day. This community project was first created through a class i'm in right now, Landmarks' Self Expression and Leadership Program. The media loves to get in on what the members of this class creates. So for the artists who come to this day, this is potential publicity for you and your art. This is also a chance to be the one who ignites passion in young artists of this school. To play a key role in their art career. If you are interested in coming in on this day please let me know.