Oil Painting on Wood

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Oil Painting on Wood

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Oil Painting on Wood

I'm going to be doing a painting on wood and would like to know if anyone has a cheap method to prime it. Gesso isnt really an option because I need to keep the wood texture completely visible on all the spots that the oil will not be on. I found this stuff, http://www.minwax.com/products/water...tive_finishes/. But dont really have the cash on the moment and some people mentioned it may amber over time. Does anyone have some ideas as to what I could use, I'm somewhat new to oil painting and painting on wood. Worst comes to worse I guess I could just outline my painting and fill in the certain areas that need to be painted with the gesso, but I would rather not work with such tight restrictions.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,475 Times in 469 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    you should be able to find clear gesso. Three very thin and carefully applied coats should do the job

"Every little step considered one at a time is not terribly daunting" - Ethan Coen

New books and process DVD available NOW!

www.dvpalumbo.com

Quickie blog (nudity)

4. The Following User Says Thank You to DavePalumbo For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    For that purpose I'd recommend Golden's GAC 100.

David B. Clemons
    Website
    Blog

6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dbclemons For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    DaveP and dbclemons thanks for the help!