Thom Yorke 2 WIP

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

Thom Yorke 2 WIP

Hey everyone! I'm a new traditional painter. I only started painting this year, and I need some help!

I figured that I was more or less done with this piece, but I've received very conflicting critiques concerning it, so I wanted to see what you guys would say.

It is my first somewhat large painting. I always tend to work small.
    It is 16x30 inches or something like that, done in oils on that weird canvas panel stuff (I think it feels too grainy so I often sand it down). It is my second color oil painting ever, and I had so much fun with it I can't even explain to you guys how enjoyable it was to make. I did a payne's gray/titantium white gestural underpainting before starting with color.

So here it is. It is only slightly cropped because I don't have my tripod with me and my hands shake too much to get an even shot. And as always, it looks much better in real life.

How do you think I should move forward and better my color relationship skills? Do you think the patchwork skin is effective, and if not, how could I employ the same sortof technique in a different way? (It really was a blast to make, so I'm reluctant to give it up) Do you have any advice concerning painting large vs. painting small? I'm kindof at a loss with the background because before it was all small triangular shapes but wayyyy too busy, have any suggestions? Anything else that could help me become a better painter?

Thanks so much!

Name:  ybhh.jpg
Views: 140
Size:  149.2 KB

I am a love suicide.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    The patchwork colors on the skin tone is neat, but it's a bit much on the cheeks. Almost distracting. His left side of the nose, the Alae seems a bit big.