Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Icon Problem with Painter X palettes and magnifier tool

    hello, sorry for my english, i am french...
    i am using vista. i bought a full and french version of Painter X and i have very annoying problems with palettes and magnifier tool :

    Problem with Painter X palettes and magnifier tool

    when i click on a palette, i foten have these whites rectangles... i must to move the palette to see it correctly...

    [IMG]Problem with Painter X palettes and magnifier tool[/IMG]

    and when i double click on the magnifier tool i have that.
    i must double click once again to see my canvas correctly.

    am i the only one to have these bugs ??

    is there an update to fix it ?

    i found no solutions in others topics or with google and i hope someone can help me here.

    other question : can i change the language of painter and have it in english ?

    thanks


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lisbon, I think...
    Posts
    911
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 150 Times in 106 Posts
    Yes that's "normal" for Corel Painter X.


    Painter 6.1 has the most stable interface and in my opinion is also the better designed, this is what Painter has come to, a buggy mess with a horrible interface with no gusto what so ever.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    616
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 163 Times in 127 Posts
    A slight exaggeration perhaps, Portus?

    Painter X runs fine with me. Occasionally, very occasionally, I get symptoms like those that you describe but usually only after many hours of running the program and with several things running in the background. A restart with a minutes pause usually does the trick. Normally it is very efficient, often smoother than Photoshop.

    Is your setup - RAM and Graphics card - good?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    CPU Duo T8300 2,4 Ghz, 3 GB ram, Nvidia GeForce 9500M GS

    I have these bugs when i start and whithout anything running in the background... I dispair !

    do you think that if i remove and reinstall it will work ?
    i did not because i have a lot of customized brushes that i must transfer...

    Can i find a solution on the english Corel web site ? the french one is faulty and incomplete
    Last edited by J&B; January 2nd, 2009 at 11:26 AM.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,048
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 195 Times in 158 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by J&B View Post
    CPU Duo T8300 2,4 Ghz, 3 GB ram, Nvidia GeForce 9500M GS

    I have these bugs when i start and whithout anything running in the background... I dispair !

    do you think that if i remove and reinstall it will work ?
    i did not because i have a lot of customized brushes that i must transfer...

    Can i find a solution on the english Corel web site ? the french one is faulty and incomplete
    I'd suggest updating your painter up to version x.1 (I don't know if it's available in French), and then switch your painter scratch disk from c to any other drive, preferrably internal one as the data transfer rate could be slower with usb drives), disable advanced brush ghosting
    painter is really awfully optimized and corel don't do much bug-testing before releasing a new version,
    and it looks like that 90 % of its bugs are caused by ineffective work with your ram/cpu;
    it works fine for some users, it is awfully unstable for others.

    And generally Corel don't seem to care about user's issues, I'd suggest referring to this faq if you have any stability/perfomance troubles.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,089
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 197 Times in 170 Posts
    ikken,

    The thread for which you supplied the link and referred to as "this faq" is not a FAQ. It's just a list of suggestions I wrote, gathered over the years, that many Painter users have found helpful.


    #
    Please do not PM me with Painter questions. Instead, post them here where everyone can benefit from them. Thanks!

    Jinny Brown
    Visit PixelAlley.com
    and The PainterFactory

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,089
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 197 Times in 170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by J&B View Post
    CPU Duo T8300 2,4 Ghz, 3 GB ram, Nvidia GeForce 9500M GS

    I have these bugs when i start and whithout anything running in the background... I dispair !

    do you think that if i remove and reinstall it will work ?
    i did not because i have a lot of customized brushes that i must transfer...

    Can i find a solution on the english Corel web site ? the french one is faulty and incomplete
    Read my response to your thread at The PainterFactory.


    #
    Please do not PM me with Painter questions. Instead, post them here where everyone can benefit from them. Thanks!

    Jinny Brown
    Visit PixelAlley.com
    and The PainterFactory

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,089
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 197 Times in 170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Portus View Post
    Yes that's "normal" for Corel Painter X.


    Painter 6.1 has the most stable interface and in my opinion is also the better designed, this is what Painter has come to, a buggy mess with a horrible interface with no gusto what so ever.
    Portus,

    Your very negative opinion is just that... your opinion.

    Many artists use Painter versions following Painter 6 and find them great.

    Cheer up, pal, and have a very Happy New Year 2009!


    #
    Please do not PM me with Painter questions. Instead, post them here where everyone can benefit from them. Thanks!

    Jinny Brown
    Visit PixelAlley.com
    and The PainterFactory

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Jin View Post
    Read my response to your thread at The PainterFactory.


    #

    Jin > I have a precision : I saw that I have bugs only when my image is in"full screen" mode :
    Problem with Painter X palettes and magnifier tool

    and no problem when my image is in a window :
    Problem with Painter X palettes and magnifier tool

    so do you know why the "full screen" mode doesn't work... ?
    Oh I love Painter... why doesn't want he to work ?

Similar Threads

  1. creating custom palettes in Painter 12 help
    By Apotheases in forum Painter
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: June 8th, 2011, 12:08 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 8th, 2006, 05:53 PM
  3. The Color Palettes in Corel Painter
    By pixlart in forum Painter
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 1st, 2006, 10:07 PM
  4. Flesh Palettes Painter 7
    By MBStudios in forum Painter
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: November 13th, 2002, 07:09 PM
  5. Creating Palettes in Painter 7 Hlp please
    By MBStudios in forum Painter
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 13th, 2002, 06:52 PM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Designed by The Coldest Water, we build the coldest best water bottles, ice packs and best pillows.