need some advise.

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

need some advise.

so ive been drawing since... mortal kombat 1 and xmen the cartoon came on fox.

im 21 now. it got to a point where i was more serious about art so i decided to go to art school.. i then got even more serious and decided to start gathering reference books (disney works, the art of (blank) anatomy and life drawing books ect)

the problem is. i feel like my practice far exceeds my outcome drawing. i feel like maybe im learning wrong? im not seeing progression.. and i know you shouldnt compare but i see people 17 and 18 years old (im 21) who technically blow me away. and over the summer out of an... angered desperation i studied anatomy doing 5-8 pages a day of studies and learning bones and muscles.

so after a while of soul crushing failure. i find myself just saying fuck it. im losing my will to try and it sucks because i dont want this.

lately i draw maybe.. once every 3 days and soon as i make one noticeable mistake i just throw the book and do something else. it feels like ive learned so many rules that i forgot how it was when i was little just drawing wolverine and showing my mom.

i dont know.. i just need some advise. i would LOVE to keep at art, but i can only take so much constant sucking before it takes a mental toll.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi! I'm going to yell at you in a friendly way!

If you start each drawing with the expectation of creating a perfect finished piece you may end up constantly disappointed or crippled by fear of failure. It doesn't matter if someone seems better. The only way to improve is to draw draw draw! Enjoy the successes and learn from the failures.