Sketchbook: The Last Human "Adult Childrens Book"
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Wink The Last Human "Adult Childrens Book"

Hi Everybody,

I am a 3D Artist, but i also produce other art including concept art.
    Im currently working on a small project of mine that is called The Last Human.

The Main idea is to create a small book, about 15 to 20 pages, telling a story about a puppet that is called Human. Human is the main character of the story. It actually is a drawing puppet living on a robot planet, and he is the last repairman/robot engineer. With this ability he has to create and repair robots on that planet. Without human the planet and the metal beings on this planet would simply not survive.

While the whole aproach looks like its a childrens book, the illustrations should be more for grown people and the storyline should just be as easy to read for us than to children. Why do children love their books so much. Because there easy to read and there is alot of room to improvise and make your own story around it. When we read childrens book we can feel that same emotion, although the imagery is very thin and not bonding to the grown mind.

Thats why i want to create about 15 illustrations and create a small story around it. Because the illustration are more related to the adult mind, they can create an adult fantasy around that. So it should be a grown mans children book.

I will show the progression i make in creating the illustrations. They are made randomly, so there is no correct order in the beginning, storywhise. Hope you like it.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by tjerkotten; December 22nd, 2008 at 03:28 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

So this first image is giving us the main information on the concept. All the illustration will have a brown color scheme over it and will have the same drawing style.