Looking to learn
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Looking to learn

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Looking to learn

I consider myself to be a complete novice in the art community. However I have great aspirations, every member here gives me that "I want to do that" attitude and I'm looking to improve on it.

I'm new to the conceptart community and have been trolling over the forums looking for some starting point for a beginning artist. I haven't been able to find any really good beginning art threads so I'm hoping to start one. If anyone reading this could share some of their motivations, steps they went through, jumping off points, books that helped, tutorials, motivational stories, things that gave inspiration. ANYTHING that could help me learn and discover and motivate myself to become what many of you already are it would be beyond words to express my gratification. The sheer talent and helpfulness of this community is amazing to me and i'm hoping to become part of it.

I love to draw but feel without direction, so any feedback is welcome and I'm hoping to begin posting some of my new work to get some constructive criticism and perhaps some suggestion on which directions I should take my art.

thanks!

-rook

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Black Spot is offline Pew, Pew, Pew Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,370 Times in 3,593 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Give us a clue from where you are starting as you can go in any direction from it, but a tiny clue might help. Can you draw a coffee cup from life, maybe a fruit? Perhaps you are doing cartoons or just copying them. Start a sketchbook. Put your best piece up in the critique section and ask what next to get honest opinions. You've given us nothing to go on.