Constructing/approaching a drawing

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hopefully this isn't too vague a question.. I'm just curious as to best practises when it comes to making the first marks on your page when you're drawing something in front of you..

I've been drawing for about 2 years now, but I still haven't found a style/method when I sketch. I'm pretty happy now with how I begin portraits or a stand-alone facial features because I find it easy to describe the face using tone/shadows.. and I spend nearly all of my time - when drawing - studying the face and the body... but say I wanted to draw this picture of a t-rex..

..I'm sitting here with my blank page, and I can't interpret this how I would somebody's face, a pair of lips or a nose.. I don't want to render the t-rex until I'm pretty happy that I have the body blocked out nice and loosely on my page and everything is in proportion.. but where do I even begin? I really don't like to use outline... If I'm drawing a pair of lips I'll tilt my pencil and rough in the shadow of the upper lip usually, and then bring out the bottom lip with some more shadow.. but with this picture I don't see this as an option, the shadow-to-light ratio seems far more complicated?

The t-rex is only one example of something I want to draw but don't know where to start.. I guess it applies to any sort of object I want to draw from life, or any other type of animal.. why do I find it not too much of a problem to draw good parts of a face but can't structure this t-rex?

Any advice?

Last edited by Pau1Winslow; December 7th, 2008 at 09:51 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following