Multiply/Sponge

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Multiply/Sponge

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Multiply/Sponge

I'm relatively new to Painter still, trying to make a switch over from Photoshop because Painter's tools are amazing.

So, I hunted and hunted to find the perfect brush to use to color my line art, which ended up being the smeary wet sponge. I put my line art layer into 'multiply', but the sponge doesn't pay attention to that. It colors right over the lines. Okay, so I figured I'd just leave that one on multiply and color on a layer underneath it. But when I make a new layer, the sponge doesn't do anything at all. On either layer.

What's even more fun is that after I delete the new layer, the sponge still won't do anything anymore. And actually, no tool will do anything.

I can get other tools to work both on the line art layer and on a new layer... so what am I doing wrong with the sponge?

Halp.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    the smeary wet sponge requires "paint" to smear so it wont paint on a blank layer

besides that this is not a painting brush it is a texturizer and blender of sorts, try using
    digital watercolor new simple water,
    tinting basic round
    these brushes are more suitable for coloring line art

its time to knuckle down and really lick boot!
    LOOK MOMMY! I laid a sketchbook!
    My Blog

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi,

The Sponges' Smeary Wet Sponge variants won't work on transparent areas of a Layer. They use Method: Drip which requires existing color in order to work.

Brush variants that use Method: Plugin also need existing color in order to work.

Open the Brush Controls' palettes (Window menu > Brush Controls > Show General will open all of the Brush Controls' palettes in a docked group).