Here's my problem...

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Here's my problem...

Can I make the daily transition from graphic designer to illustrator?

I'm a graphic designer by trade (been one for over twenty-five years), but I love illustration, and want to do more and more of it. The problem is that it seems hard to free myself from my "design brain" which is obsessed with details and perfection. After a long day in Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator, I often want to do some sketching, but I tend to focus on straight lines, hard-edges and often wind-up with cold and lifeless drawings, almost technical in nature. I need a way to loosen up and get into the spirit of drawing.

This is my problem. I know the solution is simply to force myself to loosen up, and remember Dirty C's philosophy. Still, it's hard to set aside the mentality that has been so helpful for most of my career.

The battle continues...

At 46, my bread-and-butter will always be graphic design, but illustration is the gravy. And I want to make better gravy.

PS. I just joined CA a couple days ago, and I'm completely blown away by the quality of art and the helpfulness of the members here.

Last night I slept like a baby: I wore a diaper.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following