How do i get into Sculpture?
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How do i get into Sculpture?

davi is offline Administrator & Community Manager. Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,194 Times in 254 Posts
    Follows
    Following

How do i get into Sculpture?

After watching the lord of the rings: two towers, extended dvd, I really want to break into sculpture.

anyone know a good way to break in.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    It's funny, I just took a break from working on my sculpture and this is the first thing I saw.

I'm pretty new to the medium myself. But what I did is buy the two DVDs offered at the Gnomon Workshop to get started. They are very helpful and are really good at explaining how to begin and what materials you'll need. From what I gathered, it's not too hard. In theory that is. Execution is something else. I can tell it takes a lot of practice to make the clay go and act like the way you want it to. But the same thing can be said for drawing as well.

From my experience, if you have a well defined plan, or sculpture goal, then the pieces fall right into place. You first make a armature map of the character you want to sculpt. Then the wire frame. After that it's a matter of roughing in the primary forms, then roughing out the other major shapes. Down the line you add the details and refine it. I'm taking a break from sculpting the eyes right now.