Sketchbook: Baltar's NewbieBook
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Baltar's NewbieBook

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Cow Baltar's NewbieBook

Hi everyone!

I'm a [very] long time fan and lurker on the forums. I only recently made the account and it has taken me this long to finally start a sketchbook. Now I'd like to add the obligatory, "I've been way too intimidated to post here," and, "crits are always welcome," statement.

With that out of the way, I'm a 25 year old student and I'm not sure what else to say about myself. I hope to become more active in the CA community when I have enough skill to assist others. Right now, asking me for help would probably be like the blind leading the blind.

So, on to the practices...

I got Photoshop 4 Extended in the mail today (hurray for student pricing!) and this apple is the first thing I did (photo ref on the right).

Name:  2008-11-APPLEWIPFLAT.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  321.3 KB

I spent about two hours on it and it's definitely a work in progress. Just looking at it now I can see a ton of errors that I'm too tired to fix tonight.

Mostly, though, working in photoshop has been a nice change, since I've been following Yoitisi's mentoring threads religiously and practicing straight lines, cubes, perspective, ellipses, and cylinders for hours every day...

EDIT: Oh, and the ref apple is from http://www.morguefile.com/archive/?display=57402&

Last edited by Baltar; December 7th, 2008 at 04:50 PM. Reason: Linked to a source.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    So for the past week I've been doing cylinders, ellipses, and cubes obsessively in pen and marker, which I've never worked with before. They're pretty unforgiving. When I used to sketch I only did so casually, and in pencil, so this is a big change for me.

So here are the pen/marker cylinders and cubes:

Name:  2008-11-20-cuber.jpg
Views: 98
Size:  148.1 KB

Name:  2008-11-20-cylinders1.jpg