The Road Ahead, help?

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

The Road Ahead, help?

What up?!

My name is Jon and i'm new to this forum. i've searched for different digital arts/illustration sites to pose MY QUESTIONS, and it seems i've found the right one. before i get into it, here's the background to make sense of it all. i'm an 18yr old college student DETERMINED to get into a career in animation. HOWEVER, i'm an inexperience artist (specifically, i've never really taken any art classes OUTSIDE my middle school/high school classes). my whole life i've always like drawing and illustrating characters (from samurais to super heroes) and saw this interest as a calling to my future career. but here's the thing, i've never really known what to call that as a profession. like, i know that animation has animators (example)... but what i want to do specifically is draw/illustrate characters in pre-production for films. concept artist seems to general... but i guess that's the title... but yea, that's what i want to do career-wise. ANYWAY... here's my current situation, with very little art experience compared to the real artists/competition out there... WHAT AM I TO DO?

i'm attending a community college to get my G.E.'s taken care of....currently in my first semester... but i'm hoping to transfer to USC for their animation program... my question pan out to these other questions:

-Is USC a good choice for what EXACTLY i want to do?
    -Are there other colleges i can look at that have EXACTLY what i want?
    -I don't have an established portfolio, am i in trouble? (I'm getting started but yea....)
    - What companies should i be looking at for career paths? (does Sony Imageworks have character concept artists? or is that the wrong type of company to be looking at?)