Marijuana and Art

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Marijuana and Art

I find that marijuana can really stimulate my creativity and make drawing/painting a whole new experience (at times) but like everything in life, its better in moderation than when over used.

Or at least thats my take on the plants usage.

What do you think? Do you find it a positive or negative influence on your artwork?

(If this topic is out of line or violates the rules please let me know how to delete it asap)

Thanks

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    I've always wanted to try smoking pot while drawing..
    But alas.. I'm a starving artist who can't even afford food.
    And pot isn't cheap.

I do know that drinking while drawing only makes things worse. At least in my case.
    Drinking in general makes my head all fuzzy and "thick" and I can't look at one place for longer than a second.

I have trouble concentrating as it is.

"Sadly, most artists prefer to give the elite their attention."

Personally, I've never taken marijuana or tried drawing while under the influence of anything else, so I can't really say much about this from personal experience.

However, I know we had a thread about this a little while ago. I wish I could find it. I think that the general conclusion was that a person thinks differently and comes up different ideas while under the influence, but it's no substitute for creativity and not really something to try and replace it with. Also, it messes with your motor skills, so it's harder to draw well. That's what I remember from it anyway. I'm pretty sure someone will come up with a link eventually.

Can normally do with a guzzle of sloe gin before work, clears the mind and improves determination to paint sometimes! There's no point getting blind drunk before work though .