Critique appreciated. m(_ _)m

View testimonialsView Artwork

Hybrid View

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Smile Critique appreciated. m(_ _)m

Hello, my name is Lynsley. I've been drawing manga professionally for three years now, but I only started to learn real anatomy when I started going to art college about two months ago. (I'm only vaguely familiar with the head structure for now.)

I was in this art slump a few days ago when I decided to give realism a try, and this is what came out of it. I've polished it quite a bit, since I now plan to submit it as cover art (empty space for text) for our school's animanga magazine. Still, this is my first time doing something like this, so I'd really appreciate your advice / suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Critique appreciated. m(_ _)m

Longnu is an immortal / spirit character from my original manga, and this is supposed to be her human form. Theoretically she's supposed to look something around 14 years old. Her element is water.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I would sharpen the edges a little and tone down the glare on her face. It looks like an over-exposed photograph. Also, I think there's something not quite symmetrical about the left and right eyes. Symmetry is beauty. Further rendering to bring out detail in the cloth, skin, hair and background might also be beneficial. I like the use of color and light/shade, apart from that over-exposure problem.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I personally think you could play to the over exposure by adding slightly darker shadows to contrast it. It could work to make it stand out more - bold it.
    But I have the feeling your going for a more softer approach to the painting.

Still I love the dreamy feel of it.
    The shoulder needs to be expanded out just a tiny bit I think to give proportion to the head.

But welcome!! So great to finally see you on here

Thanks
    Follows
    Following