Thanks

best canvas size?

This might be a dumb question, but what size canvas does everyone use in painter 8? Do you just blow it up to fit the whole screen? I'm new at using painter and keep running out of room while sketching. What's the best size for posting to concept? Thanks.
    Art gives me a life of extreme challenge, frustration, accomplishment and contentment. Nothing less will do!

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    That's at least a couple of questions.

How large your Painter Canvas is (dimensions in pixels or inches) and what Resolution you use (pixels per inch), depends on several things:

How the image will be used (on the Web or printed),

Your system resources,

Whether or not you choose to work with smaller dimensions and lower resolution, resize upward increasing resolution, then resize upward again to the final dimensions and resolution.

Personal preference in general.

When you plan to print the image, or think you may want to print it sometime in the future, it will need a high enough resolution (number of pixels per inch) to ensure good visual quality when it's printed. This will vary depending on the kind of image it is and how it will be used after it's printed. For instance, and image done with watercolors may not need such high resolution (high number of pixels per inch) as it's soft and doesn't contain sharp detail. An image that contains text and other fine details may need a higher number of pixels per inch to print nicely.

Images created to be used only on the Web don't need to have such high resolution as the screen only displays something like 72 or 96 pixels per inch anyway.

If you want to use your image for both the Web and for printing, you'll need to work with a high enough number of pixels per inch for printing, then save the image again as a .JPG or .GIF with a lower number of pixels per inch to use on the Web (in order to lower file size and save server space while also speeding up loading time).