What are these 'proportions' you speak of?
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: What are these 'proportions' you speak of?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

What are these 'proportions' you speak of?

Well... I guess this is the best way to introduce myself. I'm currently in my final year of highschool, and I enjoy working with 3Dsmax, and I've done some light animation with flash. My ultimate dream is to get involved in character design/modelling for videogames.
    For a guy who can't draw worth crap, I'm a really good artist, apparently. Over the years, my artstyle seems to keep changing. I keep incorperating things I like into it, and taking out things that don't appeal to me.

Anyway, here's a dump of some really recent stuff, and some really old stuff. I already know that I'm terrible at shading, although I'm working on that. I also need to learn how to properly pen my drawings, and also probably get a hold on a proper pencil(I just use my trusty mechanical HBs right now). These drawings are mostly quick ones, done somewhere between 20 minutes to an hour and a half.

Anyway, to start the dump.

Firstly, my 'mascot,' Ivory Mask. He started out with 3 swords, a wicked hat, and a bunch of extras, but over time, I've simplified his design.
    Here's the original pics:

And here's what he looks like now:

He's lost all his markings(for reasons that go beyond just being easier to draw, it's a long story), as well as his hat(because I thought it made him look too much like Johnny from Guilty Gear). I've also reduced his swords to his plain old giant butcher knife. His mask has also gained an additional set of eyes. And holy crap, look at his hair!

Another character that I frequently draw, although not as often as Ivory Mask(he's just not as fun to draw, that's all). Abraham Wolfe, a chainsmoking drug addict with about as cliche a past as any other.

Here's the first relevant image(because everything before that sucked horribly):