Artist and Discouraged. Where to go from here?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Artist and Discouraged. Where to go from here?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy Artist and Discouraged. Where to go from here?

I am a 19 year old student, attending community college and is rather discouraged. All my friends had went off to art school after highschool and I couldn't pursue my dream of going to art school because my family cannot financially support me going to art school.

I was wondering if there are any affordable (but good) art schools to look into? I would really appreciate your help.

And i was wondering what i should study into? I wanted to study illustration but friends convinced me that i should study graphic design. D: Truthfully i want to look into becoming a conceptual artist.

Reference for some my work:
    Few pieces from portfolio, I have more, just havent posted them up yet.
    http://juongie.deviantart.com/gallery/#_browse/scraps

Cartoony, (non) fine art drawings.
    http://juongie.deviantart.com/gallery/

Thank you for your time!

Last edited by Hyung; October 8th, 2008 at 10:57 AM. Reason: add detail
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    There's a part of me that hears "I've been left behind" in your post.

But I don't see it as being left behind. You just chose a slightly different route to attending art school. What's wrong with taking some classes at the nearby community college (just make sure they all transfer over to the eventual college you do want to go to though)? Just because you didn't jump right out of high school and into an art school doesn't mean you've given up on the dream of going to art school, does it?