Fresher's Question: Changing personal art style - How to go about it?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Fresher's Question: Changing personal art style - How to go about it?

I'm a fresher at Uni studying Illustration. Up to now I've been self-taught back from 5 years ago when I saew anime and manga and first took up the pencil in time honoured Monkey-see monkey do.

I've come a long way and my drawing skills, both observational and imaginative are improving always, except one thing - The difficulty I'm having making any kind of break from anime and manga. The form so much of a part of my understanding as a whole but something in me is tired of my automatic retreat and wants to experiment. I've always learned from other artists, as many as I could, but while manga is a variation on a style, how can one possibly create a whole new visual language from the sheer variation of styles professional western illustrators produce?

Part of the difficulty is in my own lack of decision, I rarely see a style that dosn't have something I could learn from it, want to use - to imitate and change... but at the same time I seem to completely lack the ability to break my drawings away from what they've always been.

This is probably long enough - You probably got the idea about 2 paragraphs back. But.. Any suggestions?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Draw from your own life, buddy!!!

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Redmond For This Useful Post:

kev ferrara is offline Registered User Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,151 Times in 1,701 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Copy over George Bridgman's anatomy books into your notebooks. Lots of artists do this. Its a rite of passage kinda of thing that "force feeds" your brain with form and anatomy.

kev

At least Icarus tried!