first digital artwork, please help

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I was recently given an incredible Wacom tablet and PS
    but I'm afraid I'm not too familiar with how to create images "from scratch"
    I've heard painter is better for this, but I'm trying to work with what I have for now
    I'm totally new to all these techniques, it's nothing like my good ol pencil and sketchbook! Any help/critiques would be appreciated.. I know the picture isn't too great, I was just seeing what I could do..
    Hopefully I can find some good tutorials soon ><

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by bluebirdxo; September 30th, 2008 at 12:24 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The nice thing about a tablet is that it can be a lot like your good old pencil and sketchbook (not the same, but a lot like it). Maybe this will be a good way for you to get used to the tool.

Play with the photoshop brush settings (shape, opacity, fade, etc) and the wacom pressure response until you've created a nice pencil tool that your comfortable with and start there.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Thanks Ian
    what I really don't understand is how to achieve good, realistic shading without either
    a) constantly changing the opacity of the brush and trying not to pick up the pen so it doesn't overlap
    or
    b) making layers on full opacity and then lowering it as needed, resulting in a huge number of layers

perhaps I just need to do a bit more research/experimenting? or is there some method I'm completely overlooking?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Blue Bird,