Sketchbook: Mr. X's Sketchbook (Practice, Practice, Practice)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Mr. X's Sketchbook (Practice, Practice, Practice)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Icon Mr. X's Sketchbook (Practice, Practice, Practice)

My name is Alex, I am a cellist and music teacher. I really love to draw and am trying to improve. Any help you can give is much appreciated. I just got Bridgman's book and another couple anatomy books and have just started in on it. Im ready to start drawing whole people instead of faces.

I have worked through a Drawing Faces book. These are all done in pencil. Hopefully scanning quality will be better in the future.

Attached Images Attached Images                      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    A couple pages of Brigman amd Anatomy studies done yesterday and today. Moved away from the smooth shading for now, the scanner didn't pick it up to well.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Welcome to CA! I hope your artistic knowledge and skill exponentially grow and broaden while you're here.

Cello, eh? I always wanted to a play a string instrument. I played trumpet instead. Anyways,

I'm not too familiar with Bridgman's book. I read the first few pages and didn't like where it was going. Not to disrespect Bridgman or to devalue the teachings in his book, but it just wasn't what I wanted at that time. Although, what I did see in his book was a good deal emphasizing mass, volume, figure weight, etc. His figures sure have a sense of weight to them, and it reflects in your sketches.

Your shading is...unique. It has a water color texture to it -- I'm surprised and interested about your shading technique (of course, I'm talking about the shading on the girl and the mouth in the grid).