what's your method of study?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

what's your method of study?

When studying other artist style or a reference photo, what is your method of study? I either stare at the picture for awhile or do several quick sketch's. Doing the sketch's actually works best for me. I can really get the feel of it. Do you really learn anything by copying another artist style? I do. I somehow blend it into my own style.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Yes and no.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    When I am studying another artist's style, I tend to look at all the works by that person that I can find, and try to identify the unifying elements of whatever it is that separates that person's works from the works of the other artists. When I have found that unifying idiosyncracy I can use it to simulate that artist's style.

I am pretty mathematical minded, so when copying a photo reference I tend to use mapping rather than grids. Frankly, I usually take my own reference photos and then cut them until the focal point is in a good place and the aspect ratio matches that of my support. Say the photo is 11 cm by 8.8 cm, that is an aspect ratio of about 1.25:1 which is the same as a 16" x 20" canvas for example. I then pick out landmarks in the photo and plot where they go on the canvas with a pencil.

If I see the top of a guy's head is 2.9 cm from the top of the photo and 3.8 cm from the right edge, I scale that up to the numbers in inches that will match the scale of the canvas. (e.g. 2.9/8.8 = x/16 therefore (2.9/8.8 )16=x therefore x=5.27 inches (which is how far the guy's head is down from the top of the canvas); 3.8/11=x/20 therefore (3.8/11)20=x therefore x=6.91 inches from the right edge of the canvas.)