Thanks

hey op, was wondering about what programs are used.

hey op,

i'm a fine art student in scotland who is highly trained in oil painting and drawing but thats about it. basically as i finish my degree i have become more and more dislussioned with the contemporary art world and would like to put my ability to another feild possibly. decided to build a porfolio in my spare time but i have no idea how any of the finshed images i see on the web are acheived. was wondering if anbody could tell this noob which programs are used to create theses digatal paintings, photoshop etc, do you scan drawings in or do you use graphic tablets, any inforamtion would be greatfull cheers

i know this will make many of you's wet yourself, but i have only ever knew drawing with pencil and painting with oils, but am very computer adapt and would like to know where to begin in learning to create work on a computer aswell
    uncutcretin
    Last edited by uncutcretin; September 4th, 2008 at 08:34 AM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    I'd say get yourself a tablet (Preferably from Wacom, but there's other brands as well that are cheaper) And a Program that deals with pressure-sensitivity.

A good start would be art-rage i think, it tries to simulate traditional media such as oils and pencil http://www.artrage.com/artragedown.html

Also, afaik, Painter might be orth considering, for the same reasons plus it introduces a lot of techniques commonly used in the digital realm such as texture and custom brush-work.

For technique and howto like blending and stuff I refer to Min's awesome threads:

http://www.conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=47859
    http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=107217

have fun!

Thanks
    never imagine you could get pressure sensitve tablet, does it change the density of the line i imagine? i must sound like a snob sorry