Portrait crit needed (Sep 1 Update)
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Portrait crit needed (Sep 1 Update)

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Portrait crit needed (Sep 1 Update)

Hey all, first post for me; joined up a while back, but as I draw exclusively for my own enjoyment Didn't find the need to post - just been watching and learning. A little about myself to start with: I'm 36 (37 in a matter of days) completely self taught (well except for high school art class) and as I already said deff. not a pro.
    I'm posting 'cus I finally want some crit/feedback. I'm currently doing a portrait of a friend (graphite - don't do paint. would like to just never learned) - He's a painter. I think I pretty much have it there is just something that isn't sitting right with me about this. I still have work to do on the eyes, and I'm not to happy with the nose either. What do you all see? as well as what's not working I'd like suggestions as to why and possibly some ideas to fix it. (I know I'm asking a lot). Is there sufficient tonal range? did I screw up by using blk. conte for the hair?

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by Chas; September 1st, 2008 at 12:07 PM. Reason: update
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    It's the hair. The rest fine, the likeness is very good and you handled the tones well. but the grain of the conté flattens things. You could think about smearing it out a little to get rid of that grain.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Self-taught or not, this is great work. Personally I believe this drawing lacks subtlety is the gradations. I don't know if I would attempt any smearing. I would first try using a greater range of pencils. Try some H and HB pencils to compliment the 2B, 4B and 6Bs.